Dr Vincent Chan Honored 2009 International S&T Cooperation Award of People’s Republic of China
count: [2010-01-21]

Dr Vincent Chan, General Atomics, USA, was honored the 2009 International Science and Technology Cooperation Award of the People’s Republic of China for his contributions in promoting the Sino-USA fusion cooperation.


Dr Chan and his wife, Pauline Chan were invited by the National Office for Science and Technology Awards (NOSTA) to attend China's State Top Scientific and Technological Award ceremony at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing, China on January 11, 2010. This is the first time that this International S&T Cooperation Awards were conferred at the Great Hall of the People in conjunction with other four top state S&T awards.


Before the award ceremony, President Hu Jingtao, Premier Wen Jiabao, and other government officials met and took picture with all the laureates of the state S&T awards. Dr Chan received the Certificate on the stage from a China government official in front of some 3300 participants, including high officials from ministries, provinces and scientists and researchers from all research fields.


Following the award ceremony, State Councilor Liu Yandong met Dr Chan and other International S&T Cooperation Awardees, and conferred the medals to them. Madam Liu congratulated the laureates and thanked them for promoting S&T cooperation between China and foreign countries, and facilitating China’s S&T development. According to Madam Liu, international S&T cooperation enjoys promising prospects as joint efforts are needed to tackle major challenges confronting mankind. The Chinese government would play a more active role in carrying out extensive international S&T cooperation and exchanges.


Officials from USA, France, Germany, Japan, Cuba embassies in China were also invited to present at the spectacular event.


In the evening of Jan 11, Vice Minister of Ministry of Science and Technology Cao Jianlin hosted a banquet entertaining the international cooperation laureates and their families at the Friendship Hotel.


Immersed in festival and solemn atmosphere, Dr Chan was excited and humbled.  “It is not only a great honor for me, but also an honor for GA, and for the whole US fusion community”, said Dr Chan.


Being one of the state top five sciences and technology awards of China, the application for the cooperation award is intensely competitive and necessitates several levels of  selection. This is the second time for ASIPP to succeed in applying for its international collaborators to win this prize. Prof Kenneth Gentle, FRC, Texas University, USA, won the 2004 International S&T Cooperation Award of China.



Background Information:


International Science and Technology Cooperation Award of the People’s Republic of China

The International Science and Technology Cooperation Award was launched in 1994 by the State Council. It is granted to foreign scientists, science and technology engineers and managers, or organizations that have made important contributions to China's bilateral or multilateral scientific and technological cooperation. Up to 10 foreign individuals and organizations each year can receive the award. By the end of 2009, 57 foreign experts and international institution had won the award.


Seven scientists were honored in 2009, outnumbered the previous years. They are Dr Vincent Chan, Prof. Yuen-Ron Shen, and Prof. Britton Chance from USA, Prof. Arima Akito from Japan, Prof. Agustin Lage Davila from Cuba, Prof. Michel Che from France and Prof. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker from Germany. (might want ot list the names in alphabetical order)



State Science and Technology (S&T) Awards:

The State Science and Technology (S&T) Awards are the top S&T honors instituted by the State Council. They include:

1.    the State Preeminent Science and Technology Award;

2.    the State Natural Science Award;

3.    the State Technological Invention Award;

4.    the State Scientific and Technological Progress Award; and

5.    the International Science and Technology Cooperation Award of the People’s Republic of China.